Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy Book Series

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, written by Douglas Adams, follows the misadventures of an unwitting human, Arthur Dent, as he navigates through space after Earth's unexpected destruction. Filled with humor, absurdity, and satirical commentary on the human condition, the series explores the chaotic and unpredictable nature of the universe.

  • The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

    24 942 ratings
    Recommended by: Elon Musk, Sara Cox

    An average bloke, Arthur Dent, is swept off the face of the Earth mere seconds before its destruction in order to make way for a hyperspace bypass. The story is about Arthur Dent and a friend of his, Ford Prefect, who is a writer for the very odd "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy," an electronic guidebook, in a weirdly hilarious journey through the universe. They come across quite a variety of weird creatures from depressive robots to two-headed aliens with a strong note of an absurdist and philosophical humor, while in search of the meaning of life and the 'never-ending decent cup of tea search. It's a comedic adventure that satirizes science fiction and provides a unique take on the human condition.

    Book 1 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

  • The Restaurant at the End of the Universe

    6 153 ratings

    The Restaurant at the End of the Universe - in this sequel, the reader visits the ultimate dining experience. In one's meal, he or she gets to see the end of everything. Filled with absurd humor, the absurd characters, and their adventures across time and space, navigating the bizarre, meeting the eccentrics, exploring the complexities of the universe, trying to make meaning out of life itself. This book combines science fiction with satire, offering a unique and entertaining perspective on existence.

    Book 2 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

  • Life, the Universe and Everything

    2 935 ratings

    In this book, Arthur Dent continues through space with his kooky friends. They adventure to stop the Universe from its destruction by a race of robots. Along the way, they encounter a wide array of bizarre characters and planets, including a planet dedicated to cricket. In its unique blend of science fiction and humor, the story explores themes on existence, the absurdity of life, and the struggle to find meaning in a chaotic universe. It is a breathtaking adventure and a slapstick, mind-bending comedy.

    Book 3 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

  • So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

    1 901 ratings

    In this installment of the series, Arthur Dent returns to Earth, which he thought was destroyed. Amazingly, he finds a girl who shares this peculiar way of looking at the world, embarks on a romantic quest, and they fall in love. Together, they travel the mysteries, among which is the reason the dolphins have left earth, leaving a message: "So long, and thanks for all the fish." This satire adventure clashing the wit, philosophy, a criticism on human nature in which it is so thoroughly interwoven is indeed a book unlike many others.

    Book 4 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

  • Mostly Harmless

    2 171 ratings

    In this fifth, and final, part of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, Arthur Dent is again set careering about the universe. Indeed, after a series of misadventures, some of them almost defined as excapades, and including a rather impressive stint as a sandwich-maker, he has found that Earth is not as gone as he seemed to think it was. Meanwhile, Ford Prefect stumbles on the most ominous information about the new corporate owners of the Guide and their devilish plan. Along with the old friends and new allies by his side, Arthur sets out on a mission, with which he would save the universe from total destruction.

    Book 5 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

  • And Another Thing...

    1 749 ratings

    The adventure continues with Earthman Arthur Dent and his alien friend Ford Prefect, in the company of the rest of the highly eclectic group. Now, they have set on an adventure to save the Earth once again from all destructions. They will meet some new faces and some new characters, including Norse god who accompanies them while on a journey. Filled with an equal measure of wit and unexpected swerves, the book is a farce journeying through time and space, concepts of friendship, destiny, and the larger meaning of existence.

    Book 6 of 6: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy books in chronological order to read.