The Witcher Book Series

"The Witcher" book series, written by Andrzej Sapkowski, follows the adventures of Geralt of Rivia, a monster hunter with supernatural abilities known as a Witcher. Set in a dark and politically complex fantasy world, the series explores Geralt's encounters with mythical creatures, political intrigue, and moral ambiguity as he navigates a world where humans, elves, and other fantastical beings coexist in a delicate balance.

The Witcher book series by Andrzej Sapkowski
  • The Last Wish (The Witcher - 1)

    60 853 ratings

    Read this fascinating novel about Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher who has abilities to fight with horrifying monsters. He is involved in a world that is full of magic, politics, and moral ambiguity, into which he tries to find his way and destiny. The series of interconnection stories reports the complexity of his life, including the relations of communication. This book combines magical influences, adventurous spirits, and makes room for ample folklore, drawing a mirage of an alternative world, where the borderlines between good and evil are mostly not so clear.

    Book 1 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • Sword of Destiny (The Witcher - 2)

    31 155 ratings

    A novel telling about the adventures of Geralt of Rivia, a professional monster hunter who due to cynical reasons usually tries to be as inconspicuous as possible. It tells a story of his adventures and the complicated relationships he has, especially with the sorceress Yennefer and the little princess Ciri. In a way, they weave short stories of destiny, love, the struggle between good and evil, human tragedy. Geralt's journey is not one to just come to grips with monsters – it helps him come to grips with the fact that he's not fighting just monsters but humanity, and his place in it. This collection beautifully sets the stage for the epic saga that unfolds in the Witcher series.

    Book 2 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • Blood of Elves (The Witcher - 3)

    30 547 ratings

    The prophecy is about a young girl, Ciri, in a world where humans share the common ground with mythical creatures. And it is under the wing of Geralt of Rivia - who is literally a monster hunter. As the political unrest spreads throughout the lands, Geralt then finds himself needing to protect Ciri from the people who intend to control her magical abilities. The road is fraught with danger, alliances, and the challenge of reading Ciri's destiny. This tale weaves together magic, action, and a deep exploration of fate and family.

    Book 3 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • The Time of Contempt (The Witcher - 4)

    21 418 ratings

    In "The Time of Contempt," Geralt of Rivia, a professional monster killer, is bound to a world on the verge of war. Political tensions begin to mount, and Geralt is needed to protect Ciri, a young princess with incredibly powerful magic, against the people who want to wield it for their own use. Amidst betrayal and intrigue, they will have to travel through dangerous lands, facing friends and foes. This tale of survival and loyalty explores the complexities of destiny, power, and the bonds that tie us together.

    Book 4 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • Baptism of Fire (The Witcher - 5)

    19 173 ratings

    This time in the third installment, Geralt of Rivia, a monster hunter, is on a mission to find and protect Ciri, who is a powerful young princess. He finds diverse and otherworldly abilities within a team of allies on his journey. Their effort, however, is marked by great danger that is created from the clash of a world at war from lethal beasts to political rivalry. Challenged along the way, the test of friendship and loyalty unites them where they find what courage and sacrifice really means. This story combines action, magic, and deep emotional themes, making it a captivating read.

    Book 5 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • The Tower of Swallows (The Witcher - 6)

    17 625 ratings

    This time, the Witcher Geralt's mission is to locate his powerful adopted daughter, Ciri. Abandoned and running for her life, Ciri must find and recruit a small group of allies for a journey through the treacherous swamps and deserts of Velen and across the region into Novigrad and beyond. And Geralt almost has the allies needed – the old friends and the new ones – to save her. They must face challenges along their journey, truths come out, and they test their relationships. Their journey is one that holds in the balance the fate of their world against those that would mean to challenge them in a major way. This incorporates adventure, magic, and tightness within our relationships.

    Book 6 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • The Lady of the Lake (The Witcher - 7)

    15 105 ratings

    In this book of The Witcher series, Geralt of Rivia undertakes the most important pursuit in his life to find his adopted daughter, Ciri, who is bound to a magical parallel world. As the Northern Kingdoms are drowning in political turmoil and brutal war is spreading, Geralt and his closest allies will have to face treacherous enemies and make forever-true choices. Ciri, who is found to possess enormous powers that determine the world's fate, has to break the chains to her freedom and destiny. The battles, the heroes, and the magic – all these are interwoven to tell us the story of love, destiny, and sacrifice.

    Book 7 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

  • Season of Storms (The Witcher - 8)

    11 976 ratings

    Set in a world of magic, monsters, and witchers, Geralt of Rivia plunges back into the treacherous web of intrigue when he is accused of assassinating monarchs. While on his personal mission to clear these wrong accusations once and for all, political machinations, spirit-takers, and deadly enemies come together against him. Along the way, he is faced with questions of moral dilemmas and the issue of destiny. Set during a stormy season, this story takes identity, power, and what heroism means to a detailed fantasy world.

    Book 8 of 8: The Witcher Saga.

The Witcher books in chronological order to read.