Incerto Book Series

The "Incerto" series, written by Nassim Nicholas Taleb, comprises philosophical and practical works that explore uncertainty, randomness, and the limitations of human knowledge. The series includes books such as "Fooled by Randomness," "The Black Swan," "Antifragile," and "Skin in the Game," offering insights into decision-making, risk, and the nature of complex systems in various domains, from finance to everyday life.

  • The Black Swan

    7 101 ratings

    The book is an exploration of the deep influence of highly unlikely events, which the author calls "Black Swans," to be rare and unpredictable incidents, which in their nature revolutionize the usual understanding of the world. The author argues that despite our focus on the predictable, it's the unexpected events that shape our lives and history the most. Through engaging examples and a compelling narrative, the book challenges readers to reconsider how they think about risk, luck, and the future. It's a thought-provoking exploration of uncertainty and the limitations of human knowledge.

  • Antifragile

    7 188 ratings
    Recommended by: Kunal Shah, Tom Bilyeu, Blas Moros

    The author talks about antifragility in this work. Antifragile is a property that involves systems gaining from disorder, stress, and uncertainty. Antifragile entities, in contrast to fragile entities that break under pressure, thrive and grow stronger when exposed to volatility. The book explains in a series of examples ranging from natural phenomena to the chaotic dynamics of economic systems how leaning on chaos will build resilience and inventiveness. It will change the reader's approach towards the concepts of risk and uncertainty and promote the attitude of being not only resilient towards the shocks but benefitting from them.

  • Skin in the Game

    6 061 ratings
    Recommended by: Codie Sanchez, Marc Andreessen

    In "Skin in the Game," Nassim Nicholas Taleb examines the concept of risk. He asserts that real knowledge and fairness flow from having skin in the game. The book goes on to show how risk-sharing is really crucial to fairness, commercial efficiency and risk management, but keeps underlining that the only people who ought not to have influence on decisions are those who don't take risks. Through all this, Taleb is using a blend of personal story, historical narrative, and philosophical insight to argue the case for accountability and the dangers of decision-making by the insulated. This is a thought-provoking read on how readers can risk personal loss for genuine involvement and change, and hence reinforces the inherent worth of their actions.

  • Fooled by Randomness

    5 553 ratings

    This book considers chance in our lives and the role it has to play in all of our decisions, successes, and failures. It defies the conviction that everything happens for a reason and chooses it instead to be random a lot of the time. The author of the book argues that the tendency of humans is generally to see patterns where they do not exist and, at the same time, to overestimate the control over events. The book takes the reader through engaging stories and insightful analysis that help recognize the power of randomness and hence adapt thinking and decision-making processes accordingly. It's a thought-provoking read that unveils the hidden impact of randomness in shaping our world.

  • The Bed of Procrustes

    1 501 ratings

    It examines how human beings, like the mythological Procrustes who was to stretch or cut off his guests to fit in his bed, distort unconsciously reality to fit preconceptions. A collection of aphorisms in which all modern attitudes are put to the test, including regarding economics and social norms: here the author goes up against various beliefs, encouraging readers to accept doubt and diversity, and warning them from hazards like oversimplification and the one-size-fits-all mindset. A gripping read that makes one think about all those things that sway in the wind of life and the importance of bending with it.

Incerto books in chronological order to read.